Kenyan President Wins the 2018 Babacar Ndiaye Trophy


The Babacar Ndiaye Trophy was launched 2016 in honor of the 5th elected President of the African Development Bank, Babacar Ndiaye (1985-1995). The Babacar Ndiaye trophy honors a Head of State whose country’s road and transport policy is judged to be exemplary. 

The 2018 trophy was awarded to the Kenyan Head of State, Uhuru Kenyatta, during the 2018 annual meetings of the African Development Bank held in Busan, Korea. 

According to the jury, the prize was also awarded in recognition of his efforts “to develop the railways and streamline air transport” and the progress achieved in street lighting in Kenya.

In the presence of Djibril Ndiaye, the son of the late Babacar Ndiaye and representative of the family, the ceremony began with a roundtable chaired by Carlos Lopes, former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Commission for Africa (ECA), on the theme “Transport and industrial transformation in Africa.”

The prize was awarded in Busan, Korea, on the sidelines of the 2018 Annual Meetings of the African Development Bank. It was first time the award had been presented since the passing of Babacar Ndiaye in July 2017 in Dakar.

The prestigious honour was awarded jointly on the first occasion to King Mohamed VI of Morocco, the former Ethiopian Prime Minister, Hailemariam Desalegn; the former Gabonese President, Omar Bongo; the Zambian President, Edgar Lungu; and the Ivorian President, Alassane Ouattara.

The Rwandan President, Paul Kagame, and the Senegalese President, Macky Sall, were joint winners of the prize in 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here